The Harmony Award

In 2004 the High Country Chorus realized that there was no formal methodology for recognition of the talented people in the White Mountains promoting the Musical Arts, not only as teachers, but as people working behind the scenes.

Our Chorus Board of Directors decided to create an annual award, and it was named the Harmony Award.

The following talented people have been recognized with this award:

2004  Jeannie Sonne                      Music Teacher at Blue Ridge High School

2005  Cynthia Jellison                    Founder and Director of the White Mountains Choral

2006  Scott Gentry                         Pianist Music Teacher at Show Low High School

2007  Joanne Mills                          Coordinator for the White Mountain Symph0ny’s “Music Is” program

2008  LaBurta Crockett                   Pianist, Music Teacher at Show Low High School

2009  Mindy Flake                           Music Teacher at Snowflake High School

2009  Lifetime Achievement Award – Bev Gries, Founder of the Dance Academy

2010   Julie Holton                            Director of Music at Northland Pioneer College

2011  Doc Dockendorf                       Founder and Director of the High Country Barbershop Chorus

2012 No Show or Harmony Award

2013  Theresa Dick                            Violinist, Maestro of the White Mountains Symphony Orchestra, Music Teacher at Blue Ridge High School

2014  Brian Blomstrand                      Music Teacher at Blue Ridge Elementary

2015  No Show or Harmony Award

2016  Marshall Pratt                            Instructor of Instrumental Music at Show Low High School

2017 Laura Scholten                            Click here for more info.

2017 Lifetime Achievement Award – Cynthia Jellison, founder / director of the White Mountain Chorale